New Leadership of the WSCF

pdfAnnouncement: New Leadership of the WSCF
pdfAnnonce: Nouveaux Dirigeants de la FUACE
pdfAnuncio: Nuevo Liderazgo de la FUMEC

Announcement: New Leadership of the World Student Christian Federation

From: World Student Christian Federation - Inter-Regional Office
To: Ecumenical fellowship, Student Christian Movements and partners
August 5th, 2021

The Extraordinary Virtual General Assembly (V-GA) of the World Student Christian Federation was held between July 29 and July 31, 2021. The V-GA elected the four officers of the WSCF for the next quadrennium and welcomed the recently elected General Secretary and the newly appointed ExCo members from the regions.

The V-GA was held in the recently launched WSCF virtual platform created for the future of virtual governance meetings, programs and WSCF e-learning initiatives and through zoom live sessions meetings. Seventy-five voting members from sixty-seven countries attended the sessions and elected the new leadership of the Federation through the WSCF virtual platform voting system. The Assembly only substituted the elections of the in-person 37th General Assembly (GA) that will be held in 2022 in Germany.

The WSCF want to welcome the elected Chairperson, Geevarghese Mor Coorilos from India, the elected Co-vice chairpersons, Pavlina Manavska from Macedonia and Ramy Farouk from Egypt, and the elected Honorary Treasurer Ebere Ubesie from Nigeria.

The Extraordinary Virtual General Assembly welcomed the General Secretary Marcelo Leites from Uruguay, appointed by the Executive Committee in February 2021 and received the incoming ExCo members for the next quadrennium, Marte Sappé Griot and Patrick Holly (Europe Region), Malena Lozada Montanari (Latin America and the Caribbean Region), Yasmina Rishmawi and Paula Rafaat (Middle East Region); Willy Masaka and Facia Harris (Africa Region); and Andika Mongolala and Thi Aung Hnin Wai (Asia and Pacific Region).

The WSCF congratulates the new Officers of the Federation and asks all the movements, ecumenical bodies and partners to support the new leadership and the Federation.

The WSCF would like to thank the outgoing officers: Georgine Kengne Djeutane, Immanuel Gopala Kitnan, Salma Charaf and Bronwyn Claire.

The WSCF acknowledges the role of the Acting Chairperson and WSCF V-GA moderator Bronwyn Claire, the outgoing Vice-chairperson Salma Charaf, and the WSCF General Secretary 2015-2021 Necta Montes for their commitment to the Federation and the Virtual General Assembly.

In a world that is suffering, we continue journeying together in peace and solidarity, looking for justice and hope.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email